Oconee County Elementary School

House Bill 251/Senate Bill 10

Posted by Debra Newman

Posted on 10:36, Sunday, April 26

House Bill 251 and Senate Bill 10
Student Transfer Request
Information Released

HB 251 (Public School Choice) and SB 10 (Georgia Special Needs Student Scholarship) Information regarding HB 251 and SB 10 will be posted on the Oconee County Schools website starting Monday, May 4th. If you are interested in applying for a transfer within the school system, you are encouraged to read the information and complete the application. Completed requests for transfers must be submitted to the Office of Student Services between May 4-15, 2015. Please do not return the applications to the schools. Questions regarding HB 251 should be directed to the Office of Student Services at 706-769-5130 (x2208). Questions regarding SB 10 should be directed to the Special Education Department 706-769-5130 (x1214).
Application for HB 251 or SB 10 will not be accepted after the close of business (4:00 pm) on Friday, May 15, 2015.

Book Swap

Posted by Debra Newman

Posted on 10:15, Sunday, March 29

 from Google images
The media center is collecting paperback chapter books for our Book Swap scheduled to begin on May 11th. For every 2 gently used paperback chapter book donated, a student will receive 1 book credit to shop at the Swap. So....teachers, students and parents, check your bookshelves, closets, basements and attics for children's chapter books and bring them to the media center. At the Book Swap, students will be able to get books for summer reading! We would like every student to come away from the Swap with at least one book so please support this event by bringing in your books. See you there!

Field Day

Posted by Debra Newman

Posted on 10:13, Sunday, March 29

Field Day is just around the corner, so mark your calendar for Friday, May 15th! Our theme this year is Fun in the Sun. Activities will be held on the OCES campus and the OCMS football field and are scheduled to take place from 9:00 am until 2:00 pm.

Field Day packages are currently being sold. For students, Field Day packages will be pre-sold for $5 or $15. The $5 package includes a wristband that students can use as money to buy snacks, drinks, and trinkets at the Surf Shack and the $15 package includes the above wristband and a Field Day t-shirt. 
Parents and OCES staff that would like a Field Day shirt can also order. The shirt will be lime green with the sun design in blues. The ABSOLUTE deadline to order a t-shirt is Friday, May 1st. For more information and to access the T-Shirt order form please click here.

Transportation Changes Form

Posted by Tony McCullers

Posted on 10:19, Tuesday, March 17

School BusDear Parents:

We are pleased to announce that you can now make your child’s transportation changes online, rather than sending in a note or phoning in a change! Once you submit the request, your child’s homeroom teacher and the office staff will receive an e-mail notification of the change. You will receive that same e-mail. AFTER the office staff accepts the change, you will receive an additional e-mail stating “transportation change confirmed.” We do ask that you please try to make all transportation changes before 1:00 p.m. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS LINK AFTER 1:00pm.

Click here to access the transportation change form.

Note: You will need your child’s lunch number to complete an online transportation request.


We welcome you to our school!  OCES is an exciting place to be! This website will provide you with information about our school, students, instructional program and community.  We are pleased with the continual success of our students and their teacher's instructional commitment.  We are fortunate to have a strong foundation of support from our parents, the community and the Board of Education. Without their support, the degree of success we have achieved would not be possible.

    Nannette Varela, Principal


OCES Teacher of the Year

Morrell, Christy

Christy Morrell

Oconee County Schools

Quick System Links: 

      Student Handbook (English)   
      Student Handbook (Spanish) 


The Oconee County School System's mission is to provide a safe and challenging learning environment that inspires all students to capture their dreams.


Oconee County School System will be a nationally-recognized leader in academic achievement by ensuring all students receive rigorous, balanced education that will enable them to compete in and contribute to a global society.

OCES School of Excellence

For additional information,
click here.

Faculty and Staff

Translation Disclaimer

OCES Twitter Feed

May 2015


Upcoming events

Monday, 11 May

OCES Book Swap
08:00 AM to 02:00 PM, May 11, 2015

Tuesday, 12 May

OCES Book Swap
08:00 AM to 02:00 PM, May 12, 2015
Spirit Night Your Pie
02:30 PM to 09:00 PM, May 12, 2015

Location: Watkinsville

Wednesday, 13 May

OCES Book Swap
08:00 AM to 02:00 PM, May 13, 2015

Thursday, 14 May

OCES Book Swap
08:00 AM to 02:00 PM, May 14, 2015
OCES Yearbook Signing
08:00 AM to 02:00 PM, May 14, 2015

Friday, 15 May

OCES Field Day
08:00 AM to 02:00 PM, May 15, 2015

Monday, 18 May

4th Grade Awards Day
08:00 AM to 09:00 AM, May 18, 2015
3rd Grade Awards Day
09:30 AM to 10:30 AM, May 18, 2015

School Council Members

System Representative
Michaelyn Rozar

Parent Representatives
Heather Foster
Melanie Howard

Michaelyn Rozar

Community Representative
Sophia Waters
Stephanie Fields

School Representatives
Emily Evilsizor
Julie Tolbert

Acces E-Board


Talk About It

OCES Site Visits